Detailing World  

Go Back   Detailing World > Detailing Products > Polish/Cleaners/Compounds/Glaze
DW Home Forum Home Merchandise Store Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Polish/Cleaners/Compounds/Glaze Discuss Polish/Cleaners/Compounds and Glaze here - Sponsored By g3pro

Old 26-07-2011, 04:32 PM   #1
Tomm
Orbital Oracle

Total Beginner wanting to restore some faded red! Any help, pointers and tips?

Hi everyone.

Let me set the scene here.

Yesterday i picked myself up a small project car. The car is a "96 Flame Red Vauxhall Corsa. Surprisingly there are no signs of rot and the body itself is very straight with no deep gouges, scrapes and most importantly clean arches and sills.

Due to it being a "96 and having been left on a driveway for quite some time it has turned some what pink.

The car is totally standard and last night i set about removing the bump strips and badges. This is when it became pretty apparent that the paint has faded and darkened some what.

I want to try my best to bring this back to its former glory and restore some of the depth and shine to the paint work.

However.

I have never used a DA, or rotary, i do not own one, nor has my detailing experience gone any further than clay, some SRP and some Col.

What i want to know is if i could restore some quality to the paint and restore some of its colour myself?

There are also some areas which seem to have been touched up with a repair pen. The repairs have been done very poorly and have left a rough and horrible feeling to the paint work. I also have areas of quite deep stone chip along with scratches to the doors.

Again is this something i could repair myself ?

I will try and edit this with some photos.

What i want to know is...

Is this something i could do myself as a total first time user?

What products would i be best of using?

What machine am i best of using as a beginner on a pretty tight budget?